City Year in the Schools

City Year is an education-focused, nonprofit organization that partners with public schools in 27 cities to help keep students in school and on track to graduate. City Year New Hampshire was founded in 2000 and has been headquartered in Manchester and worked solely in partnership with the Manchester School District since 2010.
Each year, City Year New Hampshire deploys diverse teams of young adults who have come from all over the country to serve a year as City Year AmeriCorps members. They serve as tutors and mentors in eight of the Title 1 elementary schools in the Manchester School District. AmeriCorps Members work with teachers to support and coach 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade students in the areas of attendance, social emotional learning, literacy, and math.

City Year Team

City Year’s work continues outside the classroom and long after the school day has ended: each school-based team works to enhance positive school climate and student engagement by facilitating after school programs focused on community service, leadership, and STEAM, as well as hosting family engagement events such as Literacy and Math Nights at each of our eight partner schools.

If you would like to know more about City Year at a specific school, please contact:

Bakersville—Tyler Wands, Impact Manager, twands@cityyear.org, 603-866-2417

Beech Street—Kim Bylancik, Impact Manager, kbylancik@cityyear.org, 603-260-9603

Gossler Park—Julia Lorentsen, Impact Manager, jlorentsen@cityyear.org, 603-321-4724

Hallsville—Yessi Garcia, Impact Manager, ygarcia@cityyear.org, 815-901-7861

McDonough—Josh Rose, Impact Manager, jrose@cityyear.org, 603-858-1654

Northwest—Neal Hunter, Impact Manager, nhunter@cityyear.org, 716-380-6123

Parker-Varney—Chris Potter, Impact Manager, cpotter@cityyear.org, 781-454-5820

Wilson—Steve Buske, Impact Manager, sbuske@cityyear.org, 603-275-7527

Literacy Night

 

If you would like to find out more about company or community involvement with City Year, please contact:

Jen Little at jlittle@cityyear.org, 603-218-5125

QUOTES from PARTNER PRINCIPALS

“City Year is responsive to the needs of the students and staff to benefit everyone involved in the school culture. They relate to students in different ways than staff.”

“Our City Year members offer a lending ear to our students. The City Years help children’s frustrations be validated, but more importantly, they motivate students by offering them different choices they could have made should the problem arise again. Often in meetings with parents, students will reference the support that City Year provided. The student will say something like, ‘I finished the report that I ripped up with my City Year’ of ‘My City Year told me how taking revenge will only hurt me in the end.’”

“Our Literacy and Math nights were wonderful events, and well-attended by our parents. Continuing with community events and having City Year involved, will be a great opportunity to increase parental and family involvement.”

Read for Success
2016 Guide Sponsors

BCGC_Logo

BellmansLogo

   DerryfieldLogo

DH_Logo

Manchester Community College

McLaneLawLogo

MIH_Logo

SMB_Logo

Verani Logo